Faithbridge Church


Who We Are

Faithbridge Church in Deer Park, Texas exists to bring people into a relationship with Jesus Christ. We seek to lead people to be empowered for service as one of Christ's disciples.. As a Spirit-filled fellowship we seek the leading of the Spirit and expect the operation of the gifts in our services. We desire to be a worship center for all people, a training center for believers, and a place for Christian service. We want to help believers find acceptance in the fellowship of the church, without the guilt of past entanglements, and help them grow in maturity and discipleship.

 Our History -- A Brief Overview

Deer Park Assembly of God was founded in 1945. It started in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Henderson located on Twelfth Street in Deer Park. Later that year, the church bought property located at Twelfth and Center Street. On this property was a small building that became the church. All Sunday school classes, adult to children, were all in one room. The room was divided into small parts, so each class would have a place to meet. The church had no piano, but they did have a pump organ to sing with. Bro. Weatherford was the first pastor. The congregation size was about fifteen or twenty people.

In 1956, the old building was torn down and a new church with separate Sunday school rooms was built. Bro. Leatherwood was the pastor. The congregation had grown to about thirty-five or forty people. The church officials were not called deacons, but Trustees. The name Trustee was changed to Deacon in the 70's.

In 1969, property was bought, and a new bigger church was built. This church was located at 310 W. "P" Street. Deer Park Assembly of God remained on P Street until 1999.

In 1998 the Food Lion grocery store at the intersection of Center St. and Spencer Hwy, closed its doors. The Pastor and board quickly moved to make the necessary arrangements to buy the property and begin the remodeling process. In October 1999, 36,000 square feet was dedicated to the Lord as Deer Park Assembly of God's new home.

In 2000 the church family voted to change the name of the church to Faithbridge Church.

Those who have served as Senior Pastor of the church are as follows:

1946 - Rev. Weatherford

1951- Rev. Martin M. McLamore

1953 - Rev. J.P. McGuire

1955 - Rev. Ralph Leatherwood

1958 - Rev. Bob White

1961 - Rev Bob Summers

1963 - Rev. Larry Godfrey

1967 - Rev. Olan Gower

1987 - Rev. David Way

1995 - Rev. J. Sidney Watson

2001 - Rev. Tracy Rodrique

2007 - Rev. John J. Dodd


Two years after the founding of the Assemblies of God, members adopted 16 beliefs for the Fellowship. This list, known as the Statement of Fundamental Truths, remains virtually unchanged. Four of these beliefs are considered the major tenets of the Fellowship. They are:

1. Salvation Through Jesus Christ (John 3:3, 16, 17; Romans 10:13; Ephesians 2:8, 9)
Salvation is received through repentance toward God and faith toward the Lord Jesus Christ. By the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit, being justified by grace through faith, man becomes an heir of God, according to the hope of eternal life.
2. Baptism in the Holy Spirit (Acts 1:8; 2:4; 17, 18, 38, 39)
All believers are entitled to and should ardently expect and earnestly seek the promise of the Father, the baptism in the Holy Spirit and fire, according to the command of our Lord Jesus Christ. This was the normal experience of all in the early Christian Church. With it comes the enduement of power for life and service, the bestowment of the gifts and their uses in the work of the ministry.
3. Divine Healing for the Sick (James 5:14-16)
Divine healing is an integral part of the gospel. Deliverance from sickness is provided for in the atonement, and is the privilege of all believers.

4. The Second Coming of Christ (1 Thessalonians 4:14-16; 1 Corinthians 15:51, 52)
The second coming of Christ includes the rapture of the saints, which is our blessed hope, followed by the visible return of Christ with His saints to reign on earth for one thousand years.
For a complete list of the 16 Fundamental Truths of the Assemblies of God, click here.